It’s O-Kale

Who doesn’t love a leafy green?

In my house, we eat a lot of kale. In fact, I have made the following things with it over the last year:
Pesto (substitute the basil with kale)
Chicken soup
Sausage soup
Beans and Greens
Kale with Garlic
Chicken, Kale, and Alfredo sauce with pasta
just to name a few.

Recently, I figured out that BJs sells a huge bag of pre-chopped organic kale. This was too good to be true! The issue: like bagged salad, it gets icky quick. As in, the first bag I bought, I had to throw away after three days in the fridge-whoomp whomp.

Not interested in repeating this sad moment, I bough another bag, and I decided to steam the kale yesterday, in my oven and freeze it.

I was inspired by Alton Brown’s directive to cook brown rice in the oven.
It totally worked!

Oven Steamed Kale-for large quantities
Take the largest, shallow baking dish you have. I used a 13″x9″ Pyrex
Put in about 1/4 inch of water
Fill the dish with kale. Really pack it in there.
Set the oven to 350 degrees.
Cover the dish tightly with aluminum foil and bake about 30 minutes.
Like roasting nuts, when you can smell it, it’s done.

It tastes delicious-more roasted than steamed.
To freeze, let cool, squeeze out excess water and throw in a freezer bag.

20130103-192744.jpg

One thought on “It’s O-Kale

Leave a Reply

