Charlie Brown and The Great Pumpkin…Muffin

Of all pumpkin delights, pumpkin muffins are truly my favorite. They walk the delicate line between sweet and savory, with all delicious sugariness one expects of a muffin; yet, their resolute brown color and spicy substantialness give me the feeling that I am eating something to squelch my hunger pangs. After I have a pumpkin muffin and some coffee, I feel I can go, like, plow the fields with Pa all day.

And yet, with great pumpkin power comes great pumpkin responsibility. So many pumpkin muffins are lacking-too few spices, leading to a flat, dull flavor. Or too many bells and whistles, leading to a mooshy, smooshy, icing and crumble topping sugar explosion.

This Recipe was suggested to me and upon looking over the ingredient list, I felt sure they would deliver.

Now, baking and I are often a tragic match. I have oppositional defiant disorder when it comes to baking recipes. When I don’t have an ingredient, or enough of an ingredient, I substitute with wild abandon. This often does not go well. Thus, my use of organic baby food pumpkin and canned pumpkin as a substitute for the fresh pumpkin the recipe calls for.

20121108-170309.jpg
Wow, love my to be composted pile in the background there. That is some sexy food photography.

But I digress! Back to the muffins!

Also, I had no allspice. So I left it out.
Despite these substitutions, looky here….

20121108-170405.jpg
Epic muffin greatness! And they taste as good as they look.

Next time I make them I am going to include the allspice and make this cream cheese icing to drizzle across the top.

One more note: this made enough batter for 12 muffins and a mini loaf pan of pumpkin bread.

I truly believe if Linus had these, the great pumpkin would have landed.

20121108-171011.jpg

Leave a Reply

